American Idol 8 – TOP 36 Group 1 Recap

Okay. So it’s the first week of the sing-off. Only the top 3 will go on to the next round for sure. There are 12 hopefuls and the judges are back to criticise them (at least Simon has something relevant to say).

So first up is Jackie Tohn. Jackie is one of the few auditions that I actually remember. To be honest, she’s full of energy and a real entertainer. She sang something by Elvis Presley. It was actually a fun performance to watch except at some points where it became a little bit annoying. The vocals were imperfect as Simon said but the truth is, she’s a singer on her own and she really can bring the house down.

Ricky Braddy. “A Song for You”. God! He’s got some good vocals there but I’m really not sure if he can win the whole thing in the first place. He’s got the vocals but no recording contracts in the future for me. But let’s see. I think he has something to offer. The performance was a little bit restrained for me. He’s good but can still do better the next time around.

Alexis Grace – “Never Loved a Man” by Aretha Franklin – She’s very soulful. Undeniably great voice. She definitely has the whole package. I can’t say anything bad about this one. She definitely can sneak her way to the top.

Brent Keith – Utterly wrong song choice. I don’t know why he did that. He didn’t show what he’s got. I believe in his potential. He might as well go country after being eliminated at Idol. The whole thing was actually wrong.

Stevie Wright – At first, WTF was that? She chose a terrible song choice. I believe she has more to give. It’s like a 13 year-old trying to impress her family by singing a Taylor Swift song. Atrocious. She could’ve done better.

Anoop Desai – “Angel of Mine” by Monica. He has this soulful BOYZ II Men type of voice. Cool, soft and very controlled performance. He could’ve chosen a much better song to suit his voice. I didn’t see any potential from that performance.

Casey Carlson – “Every Little Thing He Does Is Magic” by the Police. Again, it’s another disappointing performance with her misses all over the place. I don’t know if she really can sing or not. But I have to tell you, She’s smokin’ hot.

Michael Sarver – “I Don’t Wanna Be” by Gavin DeGraw. He definitely has the attitude, charisma into becoming the next American Idol but I don’t see it right now as of the moment. Another weird song choice but he delivered it very well. I just hope he stays into singing much soulful songs instead of trying to be like a rockstar or something.

Anne Marie Boskovich – “Natural Woman”. Unbelievable, I’m so disappointed with this one. Her voice doesn’t really suit the song. She’s better than that and I believe has the chance to become a pop singer. She’s amazing.

Steven Fowler – “Rock With You”. God, I just wish he wasn’t there at all. It was horrendous. The song didn’t suit his voice at all. He’s really making some bad decisions here.

Tatiana DelTorro – Big whitney Houston song. I believe she can really sing but I’m not sure if she’s really consistent with that. She has this very big voice but I don’t think she knows how to use it. Btw, for the first time I’m not irritated to her.

Danny Gokey – “Hero” by Mariah Carey. It wasn’t a perfect performance. It was just a good rendition of the song. Of course, he has this amazing vocals but the truth is I don’t hear anything special when he performed it. A little bit disappointed with the whole performance but I do think he’s definitely through to the next round.

OVERALL – it was a week one. I hope the next group will be better.

RESULTS: Danny Gokey, Alexis Grace, Michael Sarver are through to the FINALS.

So that’s it. Wait for the Group 2 introduction.

image courtesy of RICKEY.org

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

