Idol Top 9: I surrender to Kara

the title doesn’t have anything to do with the post. bear with me.

Anoop Desai – “Caught Up” by Usher

Honestly, I am a little bit surprised about the song choice. I mean he could’ve picked a little more ballad-type of song instead of doing a classic Usher song. Yeah I have to agree with the judges that the vocals are good but the whole performance if were to be rated will be below average. (2/5)

Megan Joy Corkrey – “Turn Your Lights Down Low” by Bob Marley
It’s a definitely interesting song choice. Reggae could be it for Megan. She has a unique voice but she doesn’t know how to make use of them. It’s an effortless performance and the song really suited her. I just don’t know what to say. It’s probably my best performance for Megan so far. I don’t know what’s with the judges. I totally disagree with Kara that she can do Adele. Adele is by far a million mile better than her so STFU! (3/5)

Danny Gokey – “What Hurts the Most” by Rascal Flats

Okay, not everybody likes the Rascal Flats. It’s a different road for Danny but it is still effortless. I totally love that song and I’m quite convinced that Danny did justice on it. But I’m still puzzled whether he can be the “American Idol 8”. His vocals are magnificent but not quite sure if he’s the #1 selling artist type. But on the bright side, let’s see what Danny has to offer for a few weeks more. (4.5/5)

Alison Iraheta – “Don’t Speak” by No Doubt

Amazing song choice! It’s heaven to see Alison perform a No Doubt song. I just don’t get the outfit and the hair. It was excruciating. We all know about her that she’s 16 and she’s got those big vocals but I mean, let’s not make the age the basis for her standing out in the competition. She’s amazing, she’s got a nice voice but she really does need to open up a little bit with the audience, or let’s say the more viewers who are actually patronising the show buying records, watching addictively and massively supporting the winner after the competition. She’s a rockstar in her own right but I agree that it was definitely excruciating to watch but nice to listen to (I’m talking about the Studio versions ya’ll). (3/5)
Scott McIntyre – “Just the Way You Look Tonight” by Billy Joel

Hello, I thought we’re something recent here? BTW, it’s an excruciating thing to watch. Honestly speaking, I don’t feel any emotion when Scott sings. It’s just like he’s playing, singing with his eyes wide open and being quite puzzled where to look. He doesn’t have the “best” voice and I’m not empathising on his condition at all. I get it, he’s blind and all but I don’t really have anything against it. I just think Scott doesn’t deliver well enough to become the American Idol we want him to be or at least you want him to be. Sorry. (2/5)

Matt Giraud – “You Found Me” by The Fray
Amazing song choice. I totally love the song choice. I’m not sure about the performance, I think it was a little bit copycat-ish. It was okay but not what I expected it to be. It’s good to see him perform with the audience but it was totally not his best. I think he’s probably going into the bottom three again (hope not). (3/5)

Lil Rounds – “I Surrender” by Celine Dion

Not sure about that song if I ever heard it before. It was pretty good, she nailed it. Big vocals, and it didn’t sound a bit trying hard. I don’t know why the judges want her to sing something she obviously is not feeling or anything. She’s absolutely amazing but she’s quite letting me down a little bit. They’re just putting a lot of pressure on her and I don’t like it. (3.5/5)

Adam Lambert – “Play the Funky Music” by Wild Cherry

I have to give him the props for that performance. Although I’m not a fan of Adam, I’m really impressed on what he did. I’m just really reluctant to say that Adam will be the American Idol. It’s too early. He’s definitely overly rated. (4/5)

Kris Allen – “Ain’t No Sunshine” by

Nice song choice and a good way to end the show. It’s good to see him play the piano but I have to admit he has to shave. He looks very dirty and I’m not feeling what he’s trying to portray. He’s got a very pop vocal and he can be a potential popular artist if he’d go all the way to the finale. It could be an Adam vs. Kris vs. Danny battle here. (4.5/5) BRING it ON BITCHES!!

(picture courtesy of RICKEY.org)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

