Weekly Updates: JLS + UK Charts + New obsession

Apparently, JLS (the runners-up to last December’s X Factor) have debuted their new song. It’s titled “Beat Again”. It leaked earlier today and it was played on Radio 1 Xtra last May 8. I wasn’t fazed by it all. And I’m not really outrageous and effin’ surprised about the whole beat. It really sounded like something produced by Akon. Although the vocals were terrific, it doesn’t have the qualities of a #1 single. But I have to give them the benefit of the doubt, I think this is the right time for a new boyband to rise. Obviously, girl groups are all over the place since last year and the public is awaiting for a new group of boys that’ll put a pace up the record industry, although the recent attempt by Avenue was an epic failure. JLS is quite ambitious yet they have the guts to be the biggest boy band of today.

Note: The single isn’t still confirmed yet but I think we’ll learn from this in a few weeks or days in time.

Here is the song:

The UK Singles Top 5 hasn’t changed since last week and I’m gutted about it. La Roux should be #1 with “In For The Kill”. Not that I don’t have anything against Tinchy but the song is atrocious. I just don’t know why I don’t like it at all.

Tommy Sparks debuted his song at #22 and I’m starting to like the single. I’m hoping that I won’t be disappointed with the album when it is released today in the UK of course.

Girls Aloud have been kicked out of the top 20 this week after their single “Untouchable” peaked at #11 last week. It suddenly plunged 10 places to #21 this week. Even though I’m disappointed, I can’t seem to find my way to get out of it. As much as I don’t like to care, I’m being gutted over Miley having beaten them. It’s such a shame. “Hoedown Throwdown” in the top 20? Are you kidding me? That song is absolute crap.

My new obsession is Mat Kearney. I received a copy of his third LP, “City of Black and White” and I’m loving every bit of it. The album is slated for a May 19, 2009 release. Watch out for a review of it when I get the chance of writing up one. LOL.

For those who don’t know him, you might remember this song from Grey’s Anatomy:

2 Comments

Filed under Charts, Rants

2 responses to “Weekly Updates: JLS + UK Charts + New obsession

  1. Paul

    yeah the JLS song isn’t amazing is it? but i like it well enough and they are such super fellas that i am hoping something brilliant pops up in their single release future soon 🙂

  2. Ken

    I agree. I think It’s just my first impression. But it’s really not that hard to fall in love to.

Leave a Reply

