Single Review: Jade Ewen – "My Man"

Jade Ewen has been one of those people you don’t expect to have a #1 single with their debut single. Unfortunately, it came true. After losing at the Eurovision 2009 contest, she was able to regain her composure in producing new songs and fortunately enough, “My Man” is one of them. It’s her official second single and first off from her debut album “Punching Out” which is yet to be confirmed. Looks like the Brits are really putting off a tough competition in producing such amazing R&B hooks. There’s Jay Sean, Tinchy and even Dizzee and then there’s Jade.

In “My Man”, Jade shows a spunky, lively side of her music. From the utterly slow ballad “It’s My Time”, she oozes with sexuality in this hit. If only she were dancing in this video, I’d say she’s really got it going on. “My Man” is essentially groovy, danceable and a dancefloor stumper. Take note of Jade’s absolutely impressive vocal range (I almost fell on my chair upon hearing it.). The downpart of the song is that it has some ridiculous rap segment performed by Bashy which totally ruined the song. It’s addictive and prolly one of the best releases in few months time.

RELEASE: September 14, 2009

RATING: (3.5/5)

TRACK LISTING (Promo CD):
1. My Man (Main Version feat. Bashy)
2. My Man (Cahill Radio Edit)
3. My Man (Cahill Club Mix)

Leave a comment

Filed under Single Reviews, Upcoming Singles

Leave a Reply

