Album Review: Robyn – Body Talk Pt. 1

Even though I have been ranting about Miss Kylie Minogue’s ‘Aphrodite’ this past few days, my ‘Body Talk Pt. 1’ has been long overdue so I think I have to put aside the brilliance of ‘Aphrodite’ and reassess the magnanimity of Robyn’s latest offering.

I have known Robyn for quite some time now. As a 90’s baby, I fortunately came across her first material when it was released in the mid 90’s. ‘Show Me Love’ and ‘Do You Really Want Me’ where the first tracks I’ve ever heard from her. Unfortunately, I kind of lost track of her music when the millennium started until I knew about the release of 2007’s ‘Robyn’. It just shook me that I have to follow her immensely because her music is just f*cking brilliant.

So the Swedish pop star decided to come back after 3 years of absence since the release of ‘Robyn’. The announcement was a big anticipation for music critics alike since everybody thought her 2007 album was one of the bests that year. The new album, ‘Body Talk’ will be released in 3 instalments. The first one, ‘Body Talk Pt. 1’ – proves of something that’s quite epic in ginormous proportions. A trilogy that you’d absolutely want to put beside your favourite classic albums from The Beatles, Elvis Presley or even Britney if you like.

The first instalment starts with the energetically pumping, ‘Don’t Fucking Tell Me What To Do’. It might be explicit upon first encounter but I assure you it’s something you won’t regret dancing to. It’s a strong start that proves of a cohesive, abnormally brilliant and insane tunes that a pop album must have. Well, most of those released today are tad as boring and cheap yet they reach #1. FFS.

Following the epic ‘DFTMWTD’ is the first track to be released to the public as a teaser. ‘Fembot’ and I think everybody knows how the track fits into this brilliant introduction right? The single, ‘Dancing On my Own’ is still as pulchritudinous as always even though it might leave you teary eyed after hearing it. The melancholy jabbed in the track makes it more likable than ever like what she did on ‘Be Mine’, ‘Who’s That Girl’ back in 2007. It’s sheer brilliance doesn’t mind to be one of the best tracks to be released this year. Hands down!

Fellow Scandipop artists, Royksopp did return a favour in their new collaboration with Robyn. ‘None of Dem’ possesses a nice hip hop attitude yet still sounds absolutely like something Robyn can do. The pulsating bass thumps are an absolute treat to the ears with the matching cocky attitude she delivered in the verses. Might as well include the superfluous reggae inspired ‘Dancehall Queen’ co-produced by Diplo – you’re half in listening to the 8-track LP yet you feel you’ve been listening to something you’d never heard before.

‘Cry When You Get Older’, still one of my favourites from this semi-LP is blessed with enough synths, harmonising bass beats, elevating waves and an undermining brilliance incorporated in its lyrics and for some reason I can hear the track with some Scottish/Irish beats in the background – weird me. Well this proves that at least 7 out of the 8 tracks are massive potential singles and I think most of you are with me on this right?

The mini LP ends with two slow-paced tracks. ‘Hang With Me’, the next single slows down the hype and pulse presented in the half-hour masterpiece. Another tear-jerking experience, Robyn does so well in these acoustic numbers. And a Swedish traditional ballad that I thought was some kind of a requiem is spine tingling yet prepares us to hibernate to something more brilliant in parts 2 and 3.

RELEASED: June 14, 2010 (UK)

LABEL: Konichiwa Records / Island Records

EPIC TRACKS: ‘Dancing On My Own’, ‘None of Dem’, ‘Cry When You Get Older’

4 Comments

Filed under Album Reviews, Featured Artists, New Releases, Reviews, What's New?

4 responses to “Album Review: Robyn – Body Talk Pt. 1

  1. a1

    Yeah my #1 album this week. Love its only 8 tracks, no fillers, all killers 🙂

  2. a1

    oh yeah, great blog mate, added you to my blog roll, hope thats cool 🙂

  3. a1

    nice one! thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

